A word about Deer Antlers

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
bscofield

A word about Deer Antlers

Post by bscofield »

I'll qualify these statements with saying that I've never done anything with deer antlers before so I can't say whether or not this is the standard of what to expect or not.

I bought some deer antlers at a flea market the other day so I could use them for stem inserts. Cut one down in a place where the width/girth looked decent. Went to start sanding down the thing when I almost instantly gagged! The smell is so horendous I seriously almost hurled everywhere right on the spot. I contained my lunch and then did my best to stomach the stench for as long as I could and finished something I can use...

So the word about deer antlers is: It smells so bad that I don't think I'll ever use it again!
Nick

Post by Nick »

ICK! Musta been fresh.
jchamb

Post by jchamb »

Yep, that's what antlers smell like! Doesn't have to be "fresh" either -- I'm using a pair from a deer my father got 30 years ago, and it still has that unforgettable smell.

The smell, and the fact that it's hard to find a straight section, makes me lean more toward Corian or something for inserts...
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

Burnt hair?

Yucky either way. Get a gask mask.
I wouldn't consider working with it again without one! And it MUCH WORSE THAN BURNT HAIR! It's more comparable to a carcas, wound't you say jchamb?
jchamb

Post by jchamb »

Burnt carcas is probably right - it's a smell which is like nothing else, and one you'll likely never forget. I made a couple of tampers out of the the "tips" on the antlers a few years back. Almost made me projectile vomit!

I'm making a pipe with a short extension now, but if I go real slow when sanding the smell isn't quite so bad (drilling will sure bring it out though!)
Nick

Post by Nick »

*shudders*

I definatly don't see any antler in my future
bscofield

Post by bscofield »