Stem bending methods

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
The Smoking Yeti

Stem bending methods

Post by The Smoking Yeti »

Hey folks!

I'm about to bend a stem, and I'm not sure I want to boil my nice fitting integral tenon in water (which is my standard bending method) and I was wondering if a propane torch would work for heating and bending?

Help!
My pipemaking stream of conscience/ website:

http://yetipipe.tumblr.com/
wmolaw

Re: Stem bending methods

Post by wmolaw »

The Smoking Yeti wrote:Hey folks!

I'm about to bend a stem, and I'm not sure I want to boil my nice fitting integral tenon in water (which is my standard bending method) and I was wondering if a propane torch would work for heating and bending?

Help!
A propane torch? Wow. I use an heat gun. Some others just use an alcohol flame. I guess a torch would work, but keep it well away, doesn't take a hell of a lot of heat to make it bend.

Not that I'm an expert, but just from what others have said. Note also, many have said it is a good idea to put a pipe cleaner all the way through the stem just in case it wants to collapse when you bend it. Some have said that's BS (I think Rad said that), but it seems to me that one can never be too careful if you have a lot of time in the stem!

My two cents, and now homeward bound.
The Smoking Yeti

Post by The Smoking Yeti »

Yeah, I know the pipe cleaner trick. And yeah, I know Rad tends to gripe about stupid things, doesn't he?!

Alcohol flames you say? Interesting idea...
My pipemaking stream of conscience/ website:

http://yetipipe.tumblr.com/
LexKY_Pipe

Post by LexKY_Pipe »

I use a small alcohol flame. Learned the trick from Tim West. Works every time and you have lots of control. Just don't let the stem get to hot, but direct the flame where you want to make the bend.
Craig

From the heart of the Blue Grass.
Lexington, KY

loscalzo.pipes@gmail.com
d.huber

Post by d.huber »