shaping tenons of pre-made stems

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
GPipe

shaping tenons of pre-made stems

Post by GPipe »

Newbie here.

I'm starting my adventure of making my first pipe and have been looking at purchasing pre-made stems from PIMO. I was told by a PIMO employee that the tenon diameter of the stem I want is 9/16-inch. I was planning on drilling my mortise to 5/16-inch. My planned shank diameter is 11/16th-inch. I don't want to spend nearly $80 for the tool to cut down the tenon size.

I assume I can use a file and increasingly finer grit sandpaper to slim down the tenon to my desired diameter? I realize getting it circular in cross-section will take careful work.

Any issues with my plan?

(edited to correct misspelling in title)
Last edited by GPipe on Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
d.huber

Re: sha[ing tenons of pre-made stems

Post by d.huber »

That would work, but getting it to be perfectly round would be tough.

You could do what I did with my first pipe and use a dremel to shape the tenon...

Or you could stick a drill bit in the tenon end then chuck the drill bit into a hand drill and use it like a lathe. That worked for me for a little while.
http://www.dshpipes.com

"Strive for excellence, not for what someone else accepts."
-Tyler Beard
d.huber

Post by d.huber »

Keep in mind, either of my suggestions will take considerable time.

-Tyler Beard
wdteipen

Post by wdteipen »

Yes. Premold stems do not have a finished tenon on them. You will still have to turn your tenon. Files and sandpaper will be next to impossible to accomplish the job. You will either need to use Delrin tenons or buy a tool to cut tenons. There's no shortcut here, unfortunately.
Wayne Teipen
Teipen Handmade Briar Pipes
http://www.teipenpipes.com
GPipe

Re: shaping tenons of pre-made stems

Post by GPipe »