Having trouble fitting stems

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
pdlsteelkev

Having trouble fitting stems

Post by pdlsteelkev »

I'm new to pipemaking and I'm just not grasping how to fit a stem to the shank. I bought the tenon cutter and mortise drill / facer from Pimo. The facer on the mortise drill makes a button that doesn't allow the stem to fit flush to the end of the shank. I even bought the countersink from Pimo, but that just confused me more....what am I missing.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Re: Having trouble fitting stems

Post by KurtHuhn »

Fitting a stem is one of the single most important parts of making a pipe. Well, aside from all the other stuff...

A countersink is used on the shank end to make a recess in the mortis where the radius on your tenon-to-stem-face-transition can sit without interfering with shank face to stem face mating.

That said, I never (in my early years) had a problem using the PIMO tool to face a shank end. Used in concert, these tools should provide acceptable results. Do you have a picture of your problem handy?
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
pdlsteelkev

Post by pdlsteelkev »

I'm just not having any luck uploading pictures. I think Pimo sent me the wrong mortise drill. This one faces great for fancy stem because it leaves a rounded button on the end of the shank...very orinate. I need one that leaves a flat face. I get with Pimo and see if we can figure this out.
Tyler
Site Supporter

Post by Tyler »

You're making the shank too big for that facing tool. Your shank diameter needs to be thinner if you want the Counterbore from Pimo to work. Thinner that the "wings" on the edge of that tool. Most new pipe makers make huge pipes, so it is a little odd that Pimo sells the counterbore that they sell.