Stem Material - Ebonite, Cumberland, Acrylic

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
souljer

Stem Material - Ebonite, Cumberland, Acrylic

Post by souljer »

Hello,

First off I'm new here, although I've been reading off and on for a while. Thanks for all the info so far! I'm an artist but usually work with paper, canvas, or wood as a base for ink & paint.

I've finally decided to make a few of my own pipes, not the least reason being that I can't afford the nicer pipes I want that I see in the stores. Well as we all know, a few steps down a new road brings forth new scenery which begets new questions.

The question I have today is: What is Cumberland made from? Is it a variation of Ebonite or is it an Acrylic? How is the shaping process different (if at all) and does it smoke different? Or is it simply a visual aesthetic choice?

I've carved about 2.5 bowls, but I'm having a hard time getting the bits right. I don't have a lathe so making the tenon is difficult to say the least. If anyone has an idea or technique for this, I would love to hear about that too.

Thanks for your help so far.
www.TotemStar.com - Some of my pipe related art
LexKY_Pipe

Post by LexKY_Pipe »

I would think it would be hard to work with if your shaping stems strictly by hand. But I'm not sure.
Craig

From the heart of the Blue Grass.
Lexington, KY

loscalzo.pipes@gmail.com
souljer

Post by souljer »

Thanks for the information.

I have been trying to make the bits out of acrylic because that is easily available to me and I figured it would be good practice. However I want to move on to Ebonite and was wondering where Cumberland fell into the mix.