Sandblast/Rusticated pipe restoration

Discussion of pipe restoration and sales, as well as pipe repair and maintenance tricks.
Fairlight

Sandblast/Rusticated pipe restoration

Post by Fairlight »

Hi guys, I just joined the placed and I am really amazed by the level of knowledge here.

I have an interest in pipe restoration/refurbishment and so far I 've done a few only using micro-mesh adhesives and soft waxes and some very basic spot restraining. However a buffer it's on its way (1750-7000rpm with 4-inch wheels) so unfortunately you'll be hearing a lot from me in the following months. I have no practical experience with buffing whatsoever my only knowledge comes for forums, the asp guide etc...

Now I have a question about restoring a rough surface pipe without being too aggressive to it (ie try to retain most of its texture, stain etc). As I 've read from your forums most of you do the following so please correct if I understand something wrong.

1) Clean the pipe with a toothbrush and water (maybe a mild sopa solution would be a good idea as well).

2) Apply Carnauba with a weel

3) Heat pipe with a heatgun to remove excess wax and get wax into then crevices

4) Buff (I assume 'buffing' refers to buffing with a flannel wheel with no compounds at all)

Now if this is correct I have the following two questions:

1) You' re not using any abrasive compounds on rough pipes, even white diamond right?

2) I keep reading about this miracoulous shellac compound. In the proces above I understand that sheelac can be applied just before applying the wax. Is that a good idea? Will this stuff alone do, and if yes at what dilutions?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... K:MEWAX:IT

I am really sorry for the lemght but I am a complete newb and have lots of questions to ask. This is really exciting!
Sasquatch

Re: Sandblast/Rusticated pipe restoration

Post by Sasquatch »

Welcome aboard....