Pot

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
Brian M

Pot

Post by Brian M »

Hey guys. Not my first pipe, im still pretty new to this though. My first time uploading, hopefully i got the format right. I'd appreciate your honest feedback

Length: 5-7/16"
Bowl Diameter: 3/4"
Bowl Depth: 1-1/2"
Weight: 1.80 Oz

RickB

Re: Pot

Post by RickB »

Hey Brian-
I'm still very much a novice at this, but there are two things that jump out to me:
- You can open up that slot to create more of a funnel - Kurt's method of using a small drill bit has been working relatively well for me (and will do so more consistently once my skills improve :lol: ).
- It looks like there's something uneven going on with the finish. I can't tell if it's shellac that got partially buffed through or if it's stain that was sanded off more in some places than in others.
Chronicling my general ineptitude and misadventures in learning pipe making here: https://www.instagram.com/rustynailbriars/
Brian M

Post by Brian M »

Yeah i think i sanded too much of the finish off - It looked blotchy to me at first and then i ended up making it worse by sanding too much off and not evenly enough. I may have used too little shellac - i'm not sure. I just wanted to use enough to make it shiny and not have any build up

I'll definately try to open up the slot to more of a funnel next time - i only did it enough to stop any whisting. I also used a small drillbit to open it, though i ordered a slot-funneling tool from vermont freehand with my most recent order of briar. Figured it was worth it for 5 bucks. So im looking forward to trying that
DocAitch

Post by DocAitch »

Get a hold of a cheap basket pipe and study the shape.
The pot shape can be analyzed by considering it to be constructed of geometrical shapes.