pipemakersforum.com

The original forum for pipe makers on the web
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:39 pm
Posts: 1675
Location: Dallas Texas
George my air compressor motor gave out on me a couple years ago right before Chicago. I loaded up my cabinet and drove out to a family friends boat repair shop and borrowed an air hose. No clue on cfms but their setup is a 25hp motor and about a 500 gallon tank. You could watch the pressure gauge drop to 90psi and the motor would kick in for oh about 30 seconds and shoot back to 120, about like blowing up a balloon. This was with 3 or 4 guys running orbital sanders constantly, doing bottom jobs on sailboats.

Anyway, if it's an option for hutch you could drag a bench top cabinet out to that air compressor and just hook up an airline same as I did then.

_________________
Ryan Alden
http://www.aldenpipes.com


Last edited by Alden on Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 10:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 2597
Hutch, your friends compressor will do the trick.

_________________
Wayne Teipen
Teipen Handmade Briar Pipes
http://www.teipenpipes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 1843
Location: Zimmerman, MN
Yeah. I think using your friends setup will work best for now. Sandblasting is a pretty intense operation and skimping on the compressor is frustrating.

_________________
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:39 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: Phoenix AZ
Sasquatch wrote:
The idea that you "need" a two-stage is not quite right imho.

I agree; most of this is just a question of how much time you're willing to spend on sandblasting. It is possible to blast with a 30 gallon compressor, but I'm not saying you're doing something wrong. I'd guess there's another factor with yours that makes it more difficult somehow - probably just the pressure. Regardless it can be done, but it takes way too long. The "standard" specs for our purposes are 2 stage, 80 gallon, 16-17 cfm and at least 150 psi (that's not really an issue though), but you can absolutely go below those parameters. Just be aware that doing so can leave you spending crazy amounts of time blasting.

wdteipen wrote:
Unfortunately, with sandblasting it's go big or go home, IMHO.

Wayne is totally right. I think I spent $1300 on my compressor, and I wish I had gone up a few sizes. :/

Ratimus wrote:
Question: given a pressure pot setup, a low cfm nozzle, and the beefiest 120V compressor I can find, am I going to be super frustrated?

It will work, but it could take time to blast a pipe. So, yes. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:46 am
Posts: 4668
hutchpipes wrote:
No chance I can afford a 2 stage. So what compressor do you use Sasquatch?


I got a factory-rebuilt Campbell Hausfeld. It was 700 bucks and represented a huge upgrade for me. Would I drive a blasting cabinet all day with it? Hell no. Does it provide more air than my cabinet is rated for? Hell yes. So it's a compromise of "this will do and didn't break the bank" against "this is the greatest setup ever". If I get a cabinet upgrade, I might have to get a compressor upgrade. But then maybe I can just buy a pump and put it on the 80 gal tank too in that case.

At any rate, use that Quincy if you can, that's the ticket right there.

_________________
ALL YOUR PIPE ARE BELONG TO US!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:22 am
Posts: 61
Location: Brevard, NC
Yeah guys, I've already found a spot in the building for my cabinet. It's at my work so when I get ready to blast, I'll just bring the briar to work and blast those puppies.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 1:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:34 pm
Posts: 177
In the interest of capturing all of this here without starting a new thread. I need some assistance.

I recently acquired a larger sized cyclone cabinet with a gun that is supposed to be 14CFM @ 90-100psi. I was attempting to use a 20gallon 1 HP Sears 106.170511 air compressor from 1978 and it just doesn't work.

I have about $1000 to spend, but I can only get 120V 20Amps out to my shed via a longish extension cord. Any guidance would be awesome.

I was even considering buying a generator to get 220 @ 30Amps into my shed for a 2 stage compressor, but I don't think I can afford that kind of setup today.

_________________
Acting like a loon in the front yard, close to the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 3:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 4:29 am
Posts: 2245
Location: Kansas City, USA
clickklick wrote:
120V 20Amps out to my shed via a longish extension cord.


Beware of voltage drop from line loss (even fire danger) when pulling a lot of current through such cords. (The Net has many charts which address wire gauge vs. length scenarios)

_________________
"Not once has a customer looked at one of my pipes and said, 'I like this pipe, but wish you had made the stem an hour faster'... I want every stem to be perfect" --- Adam Davidson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 1843
Location: Zimmerman, MN
You could get a compressor, run a circuit from your panel to the garage, and then run a hose from your compressor to the shed. You will spend a ton on a cord long enough to reach your shed that will work with a 220V compressor. Especially if you go 5HP. Hose is much cheaper. But really, a subpanel in the shop is ideal.

_________________
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 12:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:34 pm
Posts: 177
thanks, I'm trying not to run 220V out of the house, the electrician fees will hurt lots as it is a detached garage and has to go underground. I realize I could run the conduit and have an electrician do the rest, but it is not really a feasible thing to do when I have a 3 year old running around the yard most of the day. Nor do I really have the drive to do it. Although putting it in the garage . . . that would be much better than hauling down into the basement!

George - Yeah, I am not running anything more than the compressor I have on my extension cord. I just did the math and I'm barely scraping by.

_________________
Acting like a loon in the front yard, close to the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 1843
Location: Zimmerman, MN
I ran my own wires and subpanel. It's not hard to do. I didn't have to dig a trench to bury any wires, but everything else is pretty much the same. If you're a homeowner you usually don't have to have an electrician do it.

_________________
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:34 pm
Posts: 177
Thanks Jeremiah! My wife won't let me put it in the house. So stay tuned.

_________________
Acting like a loon in the front yard, close to the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 11:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 1843
Location: Zimmerman, MN
Feel free to PM me too if you need help setting it up. The users manual for my compressor was virtually non-existent. They apparently assume that you buy a compressor like that only if you already know what you're doing.

_________________
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:34 pm
Posts: 177
Lol! Sounds like fun. Planning on getting the belaire 218v. If I don't have to put a new roof on the house first... You know, priorities!

_________________
Acting like a loon in the front yard, close to the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 8:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:03 pm
Posts: 1124
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA
clickklick wrote:
In the interest of capturing all of this here without starting a new thread. I need some assistance.

I recently acquired a larger sized cyclone cabinet with a gun that is supposed to be 14CFM @ 90-100psi. I was attempting to use a 20gallon 1 HP Sears 106.170511 air compressor from 1978 and it just doesn't work.

I have about $1000 to spend, but I can only get 120V 20Amps out to my shed via a longish extension cord. Any guidance would be awesome.

I was even considering buying a generator to get 220 @ 30Amps into my shed for a 2 stage compressor, but I don't think I can afford that kind of setup today.


If electricity is an issue, you could go with a fuel powered compressor instead. I have no idea about the specs or costs of fueled powered ones, but it could solve the problem.

_________________
Premal Chheda
http://www.chhedapipes.com
http://www.smokershaven.com

Before the battle begins in a game of chess.
"I am going to defeat you with my left hand!" - Arvind Shamji Chheda


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 10:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:34 pm
Posts: 177
If I cant get the 218v to work, I'll be looking into fuel power! Thanks for the suggestion Premal!

_________________
Acting like a loon in the front yard, close to the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:49 pm
Posts: 1843
Location: Zimmerman, MN
You won't be disappointed with the Belaire. It's a beast of a machine.

_________________
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 4:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:00 am
Posts: 1841
Put the compressor next to the power and run air line to your cabinet, air line is cheap and the extra storage will be useful.

_________________
www.askwithpipes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:03 pm
Posts: 1837
Location: South Africa
:D Finally, a practical man!

_________________
http://goussardpipes.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sandblasting help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:55 pm
Posts: 312
PremalChheda wrote:
clickklick wrote:
In the interest of capturing all of this here without starting a new thread. I need some assistance.

I recently acquired a larger sized cyclone cabinet with a gun that is supposed to be 14CFM @ 90-100psi. I was attempting to use a 20gallon 1 HP Sears 106.170511 air compressor from 1978 and it just doesn't work.

I have about $1000 to spend, but I can only get 120V 20Amps out to my shed via a longish extension cord. Any guidance would be awesome.

I was even considering buying a generator to get 220 @ 30Amps into my shed for a 2 stage compressor, but I don't think I can afford that kind of setup today.


If electricity is an issue, you could go with a fuel powered compressor instead. I have no idea about the specs or costs of fueled powered ones, but it could solve the problem.


If one were to purchase a gas-powered compressor, how much would the tank size matter at that point? I'm looking at one that is rated 13 CFM @ 90 PSI, but it only has a twenty gallon tank. Given that it is meant to run at 100% duty cycle, would the smaller tank be an issue, or would that really only affect folks who want to run it for a few minutes and then fill up some tires or something?

_________________
Ryan Richardson
R2 Pipes/Ryan's Luxury Goods
______________________________________
"You can't convince a stupid person that what he's doing is stupid, because the stupidness inside him is telling him that it's smart"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group