Tandy Leather Finish for Briar Stain

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
kvonk

Tandy Leather Finish for Briar Stain

Post by kvonk »

From my 20 minute foray into belt making back in the mid 70's I still have an old can of Neat-Lac leather finish . It contains Toluol. Harmful or fatal if swallowed. I won't be drinking it. Harmful vapors, too. It's old but intact. I put some on a piece of briar and it really brought out the grain and looks really nice.

Anyone know if this stuff is okay to use as a finish without resulting in death or other types of bio-destruction? I'm new to this pipe work and have yet to get to the part of the show that has me buying Fiebings stains etc.

Also, how do the stains PIMO sells compare to the Fiebings products? Thanks!
d.huber

Re: Tandy Leather Finish for Briar Stain

Post by d.huber »

I just bought some Fiebings but haven't used any yet, but I did use PIMO dyes on my first pipe and the stain turned out pretty ok. you can check it out here: http://www.pipemakersforum.com/

As far as the toxic dye goes, I don't have enough experience to say with certainty, but anything that could cause death is something I wouldn't put on a pipe.

Just my 2 cents. Hope this was helpful!
http://www.dshpipes.com

"Strive for excellence, not for what someone else accepts."
-Tyler Beard
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

Well denatured alcohol is harmful or fatal if swallowed, but we put it on our pipes. :P

That stuff with toluol (whatever that is) probably wouldn't be harmful to the smoker if it was used on the outside of a pipe. My concern would be what it smells like when it gets hot, since it probably doesn't totally evaporate like alcohol does.

Rad
d.huber

Post by d.huber »

RadDavis wrote:Well denatured alcohol is harmful or fatal if swallowed, but we put it on our pipes. :P