Lathes and beating the dead horse

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
Camaraderie

Lathes and beating the dead horse

Post by Camaraderie »

I apologize in advance because I know questions like this are so common. But even after reading thread after thread, articles on pipepedia, and other things, I'm unsure what to do.

I'm a complete amateur with only 4 pipes under my belt but I'm ambitious and my fingers are blistered from trying to achieve perfect round shaping with files and sandpaper. I'm going to build my own disc sander at the end of the summer but I still would really like a lathe. I'm a student without a ton of money and I like doing most things DIY because of cost, but a lathe is far beyond my capabilities.

Like I said, as a student, I can't spend a ton of money. I've looked on ebay and craigslist (in kansas city and Chicago, the two places I'll be this summer) and with my limited experience, I just don't know how to make heads or tails of the cheaper lathes I find on there.

What I'd like to spend:
$200-400 on the probably used lathe, plus another $100 on tools/chucks... Is this unreasonably low?

What I know:
Jet Mini Lathes are recommended
Atlas Lathes are recommended
Delta Midi Lathes are recommended
HF and other Chinese are not recommended, especially for beginners

What I don't know:
Any lathes I find on craigslist are usually old models and I have no clue if they're decent or usable for pipemaking purposes.
Some that I've found:
Speedway 12x36 Wood Lathe, $200
Tool Shop 1000M/M Wood Lathe, $125
Yorkcraft Wood Lathe 12x36?, $350
(Can't identify brand) Wood Lathe 12x36, $350
Delta/Rockwell 46-201 Wood Lathe w/ 5 Crown Turning Tools, $350
Jet Mini Lathe with 2 - 4 jaw chucks, drill chuck, and assorted tools., $250
Craftsman 36" Lathe W/ Copy Crafter, $350
JET JWL-1015, 10x15 Wood Lathe, $480