Building your own tools

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Building your own tools

Post by KurtHuhn »

You know, once you start making your own tools, it becomes almost as addictive as buying them - perhaps moreso.

I'm building a KMG clone, as I posted here before, and I decided to go with a DC motor. Somewhere along the line I decided to get *two* motors, and add an analog speed control to the pile. No idea what it will be used for, but I got a good deal and I figure I can use them somewhere - maybe for a VS buffing station, or a spindle sander, or if I get the shell of an old milling machine, or... jeez, who knows. That dedicated buffing station sounds like a capital idea.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
hazmat

Post by hazmat »

I always get an idea in my head to make a machine or two for my shop, but I have no experience in doing so. I end up getting stopped before I even get started for fear of totally borking something completely. In that case, what's a guy to do? Just forge ahead and see what happens? I'm not terribly mechanically inclined. I'm surprised I managed to learn how to grind spade bits and use my little lathe to turn out stems.
JHowell

Post by JHowell »

Yes, just forge ahead and see what happens. Unless you're the kind of guy who plans everything out down to the last detail and then follows through (I'm not), if you don't get started you'll never get done. What happens with me is that I usually whack something together just to see if the concept works with the intention of making something better later if it does. Of course, if it does work I don't have time to make another one so I stick with it until if falls apart, which sometimes is never.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »