Metal lathe vs wood lathe

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
Cooper05

Metal lathe vs wood lathe

Post by Cooper05 »

I am brand new to the craft and have only made a few pipes with limited tools. My grandfather uses a lathe a lot and has offered to give his old one to me. Ive always wanted to learn to lathe, but was disappointed to hear that most pipe makers use a metal lathe instead of a wood lathe. Why is this? What separates the two in regards to pipe making?
sandahlpipe

Re: Metal lathe vs wood lathe

Post by sandahlpipe »

For me, it's not an either or. I have both. A mini metal lathe and a nice wood lathe I turn and drill stummels on the wood lathe and do shank extensions and stems on the metal lathe. I hear that stem work is possible on a wood lathe, but it's hard to be that precise when thousandths of an inch count. Not to say it can't be done.

If you're being given a lathe of any kind, you can always start on it and work until you feel the need to upgrade. Just make sure you line everything up and off you go. I'm sure your grandfather will be able to help you get started with what he knows.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com
WCannoy

Post by WCannoy »

I use both. A wood lathe on the stummel, a metal lathe on the stem.

wdteipen

Post by wdteipen »

Take whatever's free to start. There's not a whole lot that you can do on a metal lathe that you can't do on a wood lathe. A metal lathe is just easier, more efficient, and faster for certain tasks. Learn to use a wood lathe well first and you'll appreciate a metal lathe all that much more later.
Wayne Teipen
Teipen Handmade Briar Pipes
http://www.teipenpipes.com
LatakiaLover

Post by LatakiaLover »