Shop Made Tower Jaw Dimensions

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
OldCorps

Shop Made Tower Jaw Dimensions

Post by OldCorps »

I've been devouring the wealth of information on this forum for several weeks now, and finally joined today, so this is my first post. I've been a woodworker since I built my first downhill racer out of orange crates, lumber company scraps, and three different size wheels from a baby carriage, and two old lawn mowers. That was about 65-years-ago when I was ten. I've graduated a bit from then to building some fairly high-end stringed instruments—at least that's what their owners claim. I consider myself an intermediate to fairly accomplished woodworker, who still has a lot to learn. And, boy, have I learned a lot just lurking on this forum. Some of you folks do absolutely amazing work, and I come to you as a humble grasshopper seeking knowledge.

I have built several pipes, which I've given to friends, using my existing equipment (drill press; wood lathes; band saws; vises; rasps and files; hands; etc.). Some time back, I decided that, at my age, I've become weary of projects demanding hundreds of hours to complete, and, being a 30-year-plus pipe smoker, I've decided to try my hand at serious attempts at making some nice pipes—at least for myself. Last week I drove up to Grizzly in Muncy, PA, and a nice 10" x 22" metal working lathe followed me home. I've got a 6.5" four jaw chuck for boring and drilling stummels and shanks, and a three jaw for stems. I'm going to my buddy's for three days, tomorrow, to use his milling machine to make a set of tower jaws. Here lies my first question.