Wood Lathe tooling advice

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
2combs

Wood Lathe tooling advice

Post by 2combs »

So I got a midi lathe and I have a question about tooling. I've got some experience on metal lathes and some on wood lathes but none of that is pipe related. I've got a barracuda 2 self centering 4 jaw chuck on the way. I've also got a drill chuck for my tailstock as well as some pen jaws that I plan to use for holding rod stock and such for drilling. I'm also getting a set of custom jaws from smokindawg. I also have a standard set of wood chisels. I think I have most bases covered, but am I missing something that's a no brainer? For you guys that drill and shape stummels and drill rod stock on your wood lathe, what other things do you keep by the lathe? I know everyone has different methods and preferences, just wanted to hear some of your thoughts. If there is already a thread here that covers this, just point me in that direction. I appreciate it.
Tu Combs
RHOX Pipes
Joe Hinkle Pipes

Re: Wood Lathe tooling advice

Post by Joe Hinkle Pipes »

Obviously drill bits. I chuck french wheels in the lathe. 3 on lathe buffing mandrel, diamond hone, calipers, xacto knife.
wdteipen

Post by wdteipen »

Sounds like you've got everything to get started except you'll definitely need tools to keep your turning tools sharp. Another option is to go with the turning tools with the replaceable tips. In addition to not having to sharpen, they are easier to learn on. I use the square tipped one ALL the time. You can get replacement tips much cheaper on ebay.
Wayne Teipen
Teipen Handmade Briar Pipes
http://www.teipenpipes.com
2combs

Post by 2combs »

Wayne, I'm glad you mentioned that. I've seen the ones with the indexable carbide inserts and thought those would be the way to go. I'll pick up a couple of those as I go, starting with the square one. Thanks
Tu Combs
RHOX Pipes