New to forum and some more free drilling pics

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
mfalba

New to forum and some more free drilling pics

Post by mfalba »

Greetings,

My name is Mike Falba and I live in New Orleans. I've been making and repairing pipes for maybe five years now.

I've been enjoying reading this forum for several weeks now and appreciate the opportunity to be a forum member.

I enjoyed the free drilling pictures and thought I'd add a few of a fellow that I took in England in summer of 2004.

These are all of the tools and all are homemade (except the lathe).

Turning the bowl and shank.

Drilling the tobacco chamber and draft hole. All done by eye no premarking or center punching.

Finally after everything is drilled here is the rough shaping!

I hope you all enjoy.
Mike Falba
Frank

Post by Frank »

Hells bells!!
Talk about doing things the difficult way, not to mention somewhat dangerous, shaping on a table saw! :shock:

I wonder how accurately his tobacco chamber & draught hole align.
Regards,
Frank.
------------------
Grouch Happens!
People usually get the gods they deserve - Terry Pratchett
mfalba

Post by mfalba »

Hey Frank:

The pipemaker is Barry Jones. I had the pleasure of spending the day with him watching him make pipes. I had a bunch of questions about the tools and the techniques also.

His answers we pretty straight forward. He told me that he was trained to do it like this since he was 15 and this was how he always did it, totally by eye.

He also always made his own tools. The hand held spade bits are hand ground on a wheel, they start out as a metal file or a rectangular piece of steel. The turning chisels are either altered wood chisels or start out as rectangular pieces of steel. His drill bits are 4mm pieces of wire with sharpened ends set into a handle. Thats it.