What is your failing rate.

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
pzhan

What is your failing rate.

Post by pzhan »

Last night, I screw up a very nice block of briar when I hand drill the airway.
That makes me a bit upset. :shock:

I am still a beginner of pipe making, in theory this is suppose to happen.
But still..... :cry:

So my question is what is your failing rate caused by human error?

Cheers and have a nice day. :mrgreen:
Peter
wdteipen

Re: What is your failing rate.

Post by wdteipen »

Good question. Early on it was pretty high. It's been a good while since I've messed one up that I couldn't recover from. Don't get me wrong. I still make mistakes but these days I chalk it up to the briar deciding it didn't like my original plan. :lol:
Wayne Teipen
Teipen Handmade Briar Pipes
http://www.teipenpipes.com
Massis

Post by Massis »

As a complete rookie, my failing rate so far is shooting through the roof.

1 pipe finished (but failed technically too :-p )
3 pipes in progress
1 failure because of briar
5 failures due to human error

so thats 50%...

Strangely enough, my drilling was spot on in the first 4 blocks I did, and has been getting worse, while I've been getting more careful and started drawing everything on the block.
Guess I need to go back to drilling by eye because I suck at drawing...

the failures so far were:
- sanded into the stummel once on a dublin
- sanded into the shank once (also a dublin)
- wanted to redrill the airway to enlarge it but misaligned and drilled a second airway into the shank :-D
- missed my drilling but kept my mortise as center of the shank, thus having a shank that was completely misaligned to the bowl...
- missed my drilling again and am trying to salvage the block

My main problems are not being able to square the block and wanting to remove too much briar.