Newb pipe maker - experienced wood worker

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
gurnie

Newb pipe maker - experienced wood worker

Post by gurnie »

Hello everyone,

I have a lot of questions so i hope i can have your patience with some of the answers. I have been lurking for awhile, so i have some basic knowledge. My goal is to make a few nice pipes to supplement my small business that is mostly wood working gifts for men. So i'd like to include a few pipes in my craft shows later this year

So i have a JET 1014 VSI mini lathe. which i use to do other woodworking items. dear husband has said no more big tools, which is a fair rule since we live in a condo - not a house, so i am not looking to get a metal lathe. From what I have read on the forum, it seems that I need a three jaw chuck system. This is what i have currently:

http://www.woodcraft.com/product/200576 ... nsert.aspx

AND

http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/200040 ... w-Set.aspx

My idea is to turn my first few stummles out of birds eye maple burl (which as i understand, if i am lucky enough on my first few tries, this wood can be used for a real pipe, although not as durable as the briar).

1. So, do i need to get another jaw chuck for my lathe? If so, can you please recommend one that doesn't use two Tommy bars? I don't want to wish i was an Octopus with 8 arms trying to get it all to work :D I read somewhere that i should get Nova Tower jaws, and when i do turn with the jaws, i should use just use two of the jaws. So, what should i get, the tower jaws or the 3 jaw set?