First Harvest!

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
Paul_Tatum

First Harvest!

Post by Paul_Tatum »

Three years ago I made a minimal investment in a couple of bamboo plants. One variety was mainly for pipes, being of the 20 ft high and giving the proper geometry for stem extensions. The other variety, 70 ft high, was mainly for neighbor screening and general eccentricity but that's another story...

So, this year was the first in which things were big enough and abundant enough to do a little harvest. At the rate I'm making pipes this should last me quite a while. I'll let it dry over the next four months and I hope it will be ready to work in the Fall. I can't wait to start playing with it. Check it out.
(P.S. this is my first attempt at attaching a direct picture link. Hopefully I did it right and you can see something below...)

Image[/img]
JMB

Post by JMB »

The pic's came out great. Hope the bamboo works as well for you. Gave me a little scare at first, looks like the switch my Mother use on me when I was a kid. Then I remembered we are talking bamboo here. How much could that hurt. :lol:
magruder

Post by magruder »

How much could that hurt. Laughing
You ever hear of caning? 8O
Tyler
Site Supporter

Post by Tyler »

Cool! :thumb:
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

Tyler wrote:Cool! :thumb:
Tyler, you think caning is cool!? That's not very pastor-like of you! :angel:
magruder

Post by magruder »

You a, uh, Baptist Tyler? :lol: :wink:
Paul_Tatum

Post by Paul_Tatum »

Caning is a popular thing here in The South, but it refers to a craft that fixes worn out rocking chairs and is usually the preferred profession of retired furniture workers. Of course, you have to stick a sign out in the front yard to get any business. The sign I saw daily whilst growing up in Davisdon County, NC read "Chair Canning". This puzzled me for many years.

Paul