What is a Pipe Turd?

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
WCannoy

What is a Pipe Turd?

Post by WCannoy »

Hi everybody.

I'm new to pipemaking. I just made my first pipe, a backwoods billiard, and I am hooked! I would love to make pipes in my spare time and sell them for a little extra tobacco money, or maybe even turn it into a full time job some day.

I showed my first pipe to a friend yesterday and he told me that it looked like a text book example of one of those "Pipe Turds" that they were talking about over at PMF. That comment was hard for me to hear, but I appreciated his honesty. I know I will not grow in my learning of the craft if people aren't brutally honest when critiquing my work, and I understand that they do not say these things from an attitude of elitism, but from a genuine effort to help me improve.

Being new to the pipe world, however, I'm not exactly sure of what specific things makes my pipe a "turd" when, to my untrained eye, it looks very similar to at least a Dr. Grabow pipe. I'm sure there are plenty of others who are new to the hobby and don't understand this terminology either.

Instead of plugging away at what I'm doing and just coming up with creative descriptions to justify why my pipe doesn't look exactly the same as the "billiard" shape I was going for, I've decided to man up, take some pride and investment in my chosen path, and post some photos here in hopes that you will help me understand what I'm doing wrong.

So here are the photos of my first pipe.

Will you all pitch in and please point out to me some of the things that specifically make this pipe a pipe turd?

WCannoy

Re: What is a Pipe Turd?

Post by WCannoy »

Oh, a couple of questions I forgot to ask:

I would like to sell my pipes for about $100. Is this a fair price for this pipe?

If not, what is a fair price?