My first shot at pipemaking

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
sakrin

My first shot at pipemaking

Post by sakrin »

Im new to pipe making so i decided in some researching and some experimenting.
How do you think im doing?
Is a very bad piece off wild pear eaten by parasites, that i found lying in the shop, but trainig is training. Worked on this about two hours, given the fact that its my first shot. Not polished just rough shaping.
I have a walnut piece, but i read its not really good.
Last edited by sakrin on Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Europe's nastiest sock puppet, i even got teeth and claws LoL
Mark B.

Re: My first shot at pipemaking

Post by Mark B. »

There might be a pipe in there. You'll need to remove a lot more material to see it though.

#1 rookie move, not removing enough wood. Better to go a little too far than not far enough. That's how you learn where the line is.

Just my opinion of course. I'm still a noob myself, so take it for whatever it's worth.
Oakbear

Post by Oakbear »

There's not a pipe in there. There is some practice sure, but not a smoke-able pipe.

The wood you have chosen includes the pith (the central part of the trunk) which is soft and where those radial cracks come from. Drying a piece with the pith in is tough without cracking, and most blanks will not include it.

I used pear wood for practice to start with, but dry stable blanks, not logs. Most seem to advise starting with briar.
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

Jesus Christ.

Hope this helps.

Rad
Joe T

Post by Joe T »

Looks to me like it will have a pleasent shape, but needs to lose some weight. Looks like it would turn out as a Bent Tomato. I just did a quick forum search, this is a good example:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=10163&p=100155&hil ... to#p100155