Spherical bowl pipe for critique

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
RDPowell

Spherical bowl pipe for critique

Post by RDPowell »

Okay, this is my fourth pipe, it didn't turn out exactly as I intended but, I know what to do next time.
This is my first time using an extension (aluminum) and I used a preform vulcanite stem.
There is a slight flat spot on it I know but, I'm proud it came out as good as it did but, not so proud I don't see
it's faults. So I've braced myself, now give me hell about it. :wink:
Last edited by RDPowell on Mon May 11, 2015 7:49 am, edited 3 times in total.
rdpipes.briar.club
weedsnager

Re: Spirial bowl pipe for critique

Post by weedsnager »

Nice !
sandahlpipe

Post by sandahlpipe »

I wouldn't do a aluminum to ebonite/vulkanite mortise/tenon. If anything, I'd line the mortise with Delrin.

In terms of shaping, the bowl/shank junction is too sharp and the bowl goes beneath the shank line.

The rings on the shank extension don't work for me on this otherwise fairly classic shape. I also wouldn't use aluminum, because I like to make the shank extension be more rare/special/expensive than the other materials on the pipe.

Other than that, it seems your fit and finish are decent, so keep on working on it. I'd like to see what you correct on your next one.
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com
RDPowell

Post by RDPowell »

sandahlpipe wrote:I wouldn't do a aluminum to ebonite/vulkanite mortise/tenon. If anything, I'd line the mortise with Delrin.

In terms of shaping, the bowl/shank junction is too sharp and the bowl goes beneath the shank line.