Poker for critique

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
timberwolfer21

Poker for critique

Post by timberwolfer21 »

Pipe is for a friend. He wanted a short stem on it and heavy rustication. Hand cut stem.

I appreciate any critique or advice.

Thanks!

Bob
Midland, MI
Massis

Re: Poker for critique

Post by Massis »

In my opinion - and I'm no expert - the shank is too thin for the heavy bowl and the stem still a bit long. I'd like a shorter stem with a longer shoulder.
I'm not a big fan of the taper on the stem, which is rather extreme.

Something like this (quick photoshop :-) )
before:

after:

Lastly, it seems as if the sides were ment to be dead straight, but instead the topside of the stummel has shifted a few mm forward creating crooked sides which slant slightly forward.
timberwolfer21

Post by timberwolfer21 »

Like the stubby look! I see what you men about the sides. Good stuff. Thank you.

Sent from my SM-T550 using Tapatalk
sandahlpipe

Post by sandahlpipe »

Stem length isn't my forte. But you definitely want to work in two things. First, every stem needs a slight taper from the saddle (or shank face) to just behind the button. If the top and bottom of the stem are completely flat, you'll end up with a weaker area at the saddle as well as a weird-looking stem. You'll also want to work on tightening up the stem/shank junction. Make sure you've got a tight fit and sand and buff stem and stummel together.

Other than those things I think it's pretty decent for a poker.
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com
timberwolfer21

Post by timberwolfer21 »

Thanks for your input. I've got a new stem in process on my bench, so that's great advice.

I saw in the archives a thread on how to face stem parts before drilling.

Bob
Midland, MI
DocAitch

Post by DocAitch »