Shelf Life Of Shellac

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
ArtGuy

Shelf Life Of Shellac

Post by ArtGuy »

Hey guys,

I have read that schellac has a shelf life of about 6 months and that most prof. woodworkers will not use it after that. With the ultra thin coat used in pipe making this may not mean much to us, however, I though I would ask...

Do any of you worry about such a thing?
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

Hi John,

I have been using my can of Zinser's for almost 2 years, and I don't notice anything wrong with it. Seems to work OK.

Rad
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Same here. I have a can of Zinser blonde that's about 2 years old, and a quart of Orange I mixed up about a year ago. Both are still going stronga nd don't show any strange defects.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
LexKY_Pipe

Post by LexKY_Pipe »

For what purposes do you guys use the shellac?
Craig

From the heart of the Blue Grass.
Lexington, KY

loscalzo.pipes@gmail.com
ArtGuy

Post by ArtGuy »

I use it right before the buffing and waxing... I take a 1 pound mix and dillute that even more ( 1 part shellac to 3 parts alchohol)......

apply it very quickly and wipe it off again... all in about 10 seconds or so

This spit coat gives you a little more protection against taking off too much stain with the buffer in spots and also aids in getting a smooth even coat of color on the pipe.

Being that it is only a micron thick it does not effect the smoking qualities of the pipe. It also lends a bit of protection again dirt and the like from handling.

When you read Tonnie Nielson and Bang in Pipes and Tobacco Magazine speaking of giving the pipes a very brief and very thin exposure to shellac... that is what they are talking about.
marks

Post by marks »

The process that John just described works great.
LexKY_Pipe

Post by LexKY_Pipe »

Guys

That's very helpful. Thanks. :thumb:
Craig

Lexington, KY

loscalzo.pipes@gmail.com
Jan