custom stamps for "signing" your work

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
achduliebe

custom stamps for "signing" your work

Post by achduliebe »

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I am also new to making pipes. I actually have not started my first pipe yet. I have all of the materials, but have been doing research and reading about the process. Just get myself reasonably familiar with things before I start. My question is where can you order custom stamps for "signing" your work?

I know this is kind of a premature question, seeing how I have not yet completed my first pipe but a question I have nonetheless.

Thanks,
-Bryan
Tyler
Site Supporter

Post by Tyler »

Brian,

Welcome to the forums! Glad you're here.

Here's the place that is most often recommended for stamps. I haven't bought from him yet, but I have talked to him on the phone a time or two.

Paul Argendorf
A&M Steel Stamps
55 WINDSOR AVE
MINEOLA , NY 11501
516 471 6223

Based on what I have heard, I do not hesistate to recommend this place.

Tyler
achduliebe

Post by achduliebe »

Thanks Tyler,

Glad to be here too.

I will look them up when I am ready to order my stamp. I appreciate the information.

Great web site, very helpful!

Thanks,
-Bryan
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

I've heard good things about htis place:
http://www.harpermfg.com/hm_leather.html

I have not ordered a custom stamp from anywhere though. I mark all my pipes with a set of steel letter/number stamps. However, I'm going to change that very soon. Wether I get a stamp, or move to using a dremel, I don't know. I know there are guys that use a dremel, but not many. Most folks use stamps. Does anyone know if ther are any drawbacks to using a dremel and an engraving bit?
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

KurtHuhn wrote:Does anyone know if ther are any drawbacks to using a dremel and an engraving bit?