Well Here Goes Nothing - My First Egg Attempt

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
shikano53

Well Here Goes Nothing - My First Egg Attempt

Post by shikano53 »

This is my first attempt at an egg. I rusticated it because the briar wasn't the best for a smooth. I used the Walt Cannoy method with the nails epoxied into a 1" dowel. Think I need to get an old pool ball like he uses and build a new rustication tool out of that. My stamp isn't very good. It's all there and readable, but I missed my target mark for the stamp. That's after drawing a little box and marking the center point with a pencil line.
The stem is vulcanite because I'm still really struggling with button forming on a piece of turned rod.
Thanks all for your comments in advance.

shikano53

Re: Well Here Goes Nothing - My First Egg Attempt

Post by shikano53 »

Hi folks, I'm going to try explaining my thoughts on this egg and how I arrived at what I did.
So, first off I went to Smoking Pipes and looked at a whole swack of eggs by a lot of different artisans. I took a bunch of screen captures, printed those and taped them to my shop wall.
I then started sketching. I sketched about a dozen different shapes that I though might represent the overall genre but I didn't use the shapes I had printed as a copy all.
Once I had made my sketches I modified the ones I thought were usable. I erased, redrew, erased some more and settled on this shape. Bottom line was probably based more on the fact that I liked it and liked the reverse angle on the backside of the bowl. Well, I don't know what else to call it since it slopes outward and away, not inward like on a billiard.
After that I selected a piece of briar and started drawing on the briar. Again, drawing, erasing etc. until I was satisfied.
Anyway, that's what I did and that's the story on that particular pipe.