Exploding stem... no, really...

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
hazmat

Exploding stem... no, really...

Post by hazmat »

So.. I'm (attempting to) cut a tenon into a pre-fab vulcanite stem. Have it chucked up in the metal lathe nice and centered, it's spinning beautifully and I've taken one.... two... three swipes out of it.. everything's going well. Swipe number four, I lock in for some auto-swipes.. and !POW! the stem popped!!! 8O

All I could do was stare... and then laugh my arse off. Never saw something like that happen before. Anyway, just a quick anecdote and a lesson in "less is better" when turning a tenon on a lathe. I've heard of things blowing up in people's faces.. figuratively.. never thought I'd have it happen.. literally. oh well... :boohoo:
ScoJo

Post by ScoJo »

Note to self (since I am not good at cutting tenons anyway):

Wear safety glasses next time I cut a tenon (since I'll probably be cutting it instead of using my delrin anyway).

:cry:
hazmat

Post by hazmat »

I've been reading about your delrin problems.. thought I've not yet used the stuff, my advice would be: keep trying until it works for you. I HATE... I can't stress that enough.. HATE turning tenons unless I absolutely have to. When I started seeing how often delrin is being used and hearing nothing but good feedback about it, I'm willing to suffer with the pain of learning how to work with it if it means no tenon turning unless the design of the pipe practically screams for it.
ScoJo

Post by ScoJo »