Mini sandblast any good?

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
OleFattGuy

Mini sandblast any good?

Post by OleFattGuy »

Hi all.
I've lately been thinking about sandblasting. Since I am a newbie hobbyist without even a place to call my workshop(I set up stuff in the kitchen whenever the missus is away :( sad but true) I cannot even start to dream about compressors etc. However I have an ailing for all things "mini" (might wanna see a shrink about that), so I Googled for "sandblast mini" when http://www.ares-server.com/Ares/Ares.as ... t&ID=60287 came up.

Anyone ever tried something like that?
Would a spray can have enough power to blow away briar?
" because the grains of abrasive are so fine, it will remove paint without removing surface details...even on plastic"
Is that a matter of coarseness of the abrasive?

Might be a silly question, but hey I'll try anything once :)
OleFattGuy
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

I think you'll be sorely disappointed with that unit. The simple answer is "no, I'd be surprised if it worked", but stranger things have happened.

Briar is really tough stuf. If all you want to do is create a matte finish on glass, metal, or plastic, that unit will work - if you can get past it's horrible shortcomings. The main problem with that thing is the canned air. It's actually a compressed diflouroethane or something - because it liquifies at higher temps and lower pressure than regular air. This makes it more stable for packaging and shipping, but it also means it can never reach anything more than about 50PSI under ideal circumstances, and typically less than 30PSI. That's just plain not enough to do much of anything to briar.