Tapered drill bits - diameter

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
Karol

Tapered drill bits - diameter

Post by Karol »

Hi there, I'm about to purchase some tapered drill bits so I searched in the forum where I found a recommendations around 5/32" - 9/64".

Now, I'm not an expert in these things and I would like to know what is the diameter on the both ends. I asked guys behind the website is selling them but they replied that the number is matching screws that fit into the hole predrilled by these bits. Well, that didn't help... Is the 5/32" diameter of the tip or the butt of the drill bit? :oops:

Do you guys mind, if you happen to have such drill bits, to measure the diameters and post them here? Preferably metric but converting imperial is just as easy. Thanks in advance!

Karol
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

Hi Karol,

My bit is 1/16" at the pointy end. At the butt it is 5/32".

Hope this helps.

Rad
Karol

Post by Karol »

RadDavis wrote:Hi Karol,

My bit is 1/16" at the pointy end. At the butt it is 5/32".

Hope this helps.

Rad
Rad, that's exactly what I was after, thanks a lot and I really appreciate prompt answer!

That's from (5/32) inch = 3.96875 millimeters to (1/16) inch = 1.5875 millimeters in case someone (like me :D ) can't do imperial.

Karol
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

I'm happy to help, Karol.

rad
ckr

Post by ckr »

Rad

I have also thought of picking up some tapered bits. Could I bother you to also measure the taper? How long is it from the point that it deverges from 5/32 to the little pointy end?

My concern is the airflow being restricted before the last inch where the slot begins to widen the hole allowing the same volume of air to pass through.

If the taper is over an inch, is there anything you do to compensate, like adjust the angle of the slot to penatrate further into the stem to form a deeper slot?
Fumo in pace :pipe:
Nick

Post by Nick »