My first pipe... and first crack...

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
Briarfox

My first pipe... and first crack...

Post by Briarfox »

I'm very new to pipe carving and have just finished the initial sanding on my pipe. As I was getting ready to move to sanding by hand I noticed a nice crack that began to develop. I sanded and sanded but it's still there. I figured that it wasnt a big deal and added character.

I wet the pipe down to see how the grain turned out. And then I saw it. There was a little dampness inside the bowl. and its next to a small blemish which I realized was part of the crack on the outside.

So is there anything I can do to save this pipe? I'm going to finish it regardless as practice and since it's my first pipe. I'm unsure how I can fill it. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
sethile

Post by sethile »

Welcome to the forum, and to pipemaking! Sorry your first pipe had a crack in it. :cry: I'd go ahead and finish it, as you say, for the experience, if nothing else. I don't think I'd try to fill it. One of my early efforts had a really bad flaw that also went all the way through. I decided I'd finish it, and smoke it anyway. So far it smokes great. I suspect it will eventually burn out, but why not enjoy it until it does? You could try pipe mud, or one of the pre-carb treatments mentioned elsewhere to get a little extra cake started. That could help protect that area from burning out as quickly.

May your second chunk of briar make up for the first!
Scott E. Thile
Collector, smoker, and aspiring pipemaker.
http://sethilepipes.com
Sysop: http://pipedia.org
---------------------
flix

Post by flix »

Briarfox, or can we call you BF?

I had a pipe just like that. I filled it with quite a bit of compressed cigar ash, be sure to really pack it in tight, then used my own spit to make it into mortar. The customer was happy with the result (to my amazement).

Just my $.02...

--Michael
LexKY_Pipe

Post by LexKY_Pipe »