s&d bit troubles

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
Briarfox

s&d bit troubles

Post by Briarfox »

I picked myself up some S&D bits for the tobacco chamber. I've attempted to shape them and give them the look of my ground spade bits. However they do not cut well. The briar smokes and they just cut horribly.

I ground them by turning them backward on a lathe and took a grinder to them. I am not experienced with sharpening drill bits, so I was reading up on the subject as best I could.

Do you guys have any advise? I'm frustrated enough that I may just breakdown and buy one from http://www.briarpipetooling.com/ and attempt to copy it.
JHowell

Post by JHowell »

Yeah, you can get lucky, or it can be tricky. I've had both experiences. Usually it's a matter of clearance behind the cutting edge, or the cutting edge being rounded.
Briarfox

Post by Briarfox »

JHowell wrote:Yeah, you can get lucky, or it can be tricky. I've had both experiences. Usually it's a matter of clearance behind the cutting edge, or the cutting edge being rounded.
Do I not want the cutting edge rounded? I tried to emulate the shape of a rounded spade bit.
ckr

Post by ckr »

It sounds to me that the area behind the cutting edge is higher than the edge itself. The area behind needs to taper inward so it does not touch and heat the material being drilled. The only part that should touch is the cutting edge itself.

Try taking some meat off the bit behind the edge.
Briarfox

Post by Briarfox »

ckr wrote:It sounds to me that the area behind the cutting edge is higher than the edge itself. The area behind needs to taper inward so it does not touch and heat the material being drilled. The only part that should touch is the cutting edge itself.

Yeah I suspect that is part of the issue. I used a dremmel to grind some away. How much of a point if any should there be?
JHowell

Post by JHowell »