My tennon... Dangit, I shrank it!

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
DanH

My tennon... Dangit, I shrank it!

Post by DanH »

I'm a relative newbie, and I'm working on a pipe... probably my tenth I think (all from kits, including this one).

I really wanted a long slow graceful bend in the lucite stem instead of the sharp angle I normally get, so with the stem inserted into the stummel, I slowly heated the whole stem with a heat gun until it was malleable enough for the bend I wanted. Bent it with no problems. Didn't pinch the draft at all (a nice first for me). Visually, the result is really great. But, after the stem cooled, I noticed that I had somehow shrunk my tennon. Basically, unless you're holding them together, it will slip right out of the mortise now. :oops:

Is there an easy way to get it back to snug again? And also, if someone has an idea of what I likely did to make it happen, let me know so I can try to avoid doing it again.
ckr

Post by ckr »

Usually folks find a nail that fits into the airway. heat the tenon back up and insert nail and push. The tenon should expand as you compress it, when done stick it in some water and cool it. Try not to press so hard that it is too big.
FredS

Post by FredS »

Instead of a nail, I use the butt end of a drill bit. I have a complete set of drill bits - Number sizes, Letter sizes & Fraction sizes, so it's fairly easy to find one that is a few thousandths larger than the draft hole. From there I do as ckr says. If you get it too big, you can always work it back down to size.
"Cut your own wood and you warm yourself twice." - Henry Ford
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

I hope I'm not too late.

Try heating the just the tenon up again while it's out of the pipe and then cool it. It should return to its original diameter.

When you heat the tenon up too much while it's in the pipe it will conform to the size of the mortise and become too loose.

Rad
DanH