Layout on block

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
TRS
Site Supporter

Layout on block

Post by TRS »

Hi everyone. I'll start off by thanking you all now; this is my first post but I've been reading and digging and reading all week and this forum is an amazing resource. I'm gearing up to try my first pipe shortly and trying to get as much information as possible. Please bear with me, I'm a total novice with woodworking and the tools involved.

My first of many questions involves layouts, and I didn't seem to find much on the subject. How do you place a layout on the briar block? I've seen what looks to me like a drawing on just one side and also the side/front/top/back drawings. Ugh, sorry it's a bit of a vague question.... thanks!
SimeonTurner
Site Supporter

Post by SimeonTurner »

Hello and welcome!

There's a lot of ways to lay your pipe out, and it depends somewhat on your personal preference. I think it is safe to say that most people do it in the way you described; drawing the general layout of the pipe on one side of the block.

If you are making a standard shaped pipe rather than a freehand, it is usually a good idea to make a general sketch of the shape as you want it to look on the side of the block (make sure you have squared all sides of the block before doing this). Then, once you have what you think is a good looking rough sketch, layout your tobacco chamber, smoke hole, and mortise so as to accommodate the shape of your sketch. Sometimes you will find that this is tricky, as the shape you draw may not accommodate the angles needed to make your tobacco chamber and smoke hole line up properly, so I suggest using a light touch with a pencil that you can easily erase.