Working with real amber?

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
billiard

Working with real amber?

Post by billiard »

My apologies if this has been asked before, my searching did not find it.

I just came into a "block" of very bright, light, fairly transparent amber, though "glob" is probably more accurate. It is roughly 3" X 1.5" X 1.5" and when I make a pipe that it would benefit I would like to make a stem out of it. I have never worked with real amber before and I have heard this is pretty expensive material so I do not want to mess it up.

Assuming my belief on cost is correct, would anyone care to answer some questions for me?

- I can make stems from vulcanite rod, would my same tools and processes work with Amber?
- do I have to use completely "bubble free" areas? Or just where the air hole will be?
- I have read where some like insects viewable, this has none, but it has some sort of small black thing suspended in it. Can that be kept in?
- Can I go to the same thinness of a good vulcanite bit or should I leave more?
- Anything else I should know?

Thanks very much,
Billiard
kbadkar
Site Supporter

Re: Working with real amber?

Post by kbadkar »

Wow. What an adventure! I don't know of any modern pipemaker that has used it. It's very delicate, so leave more meat on the button than you would with vulcanite. I wouldn't use amber for the tenon though, I don't think it'll last.
billiard

Post by billiard »

kbadkar wrote:Wow. What an adventure! I don't know of any modern pipemaker that has used it. It's very delicate, so leave more meat on the button than you would with vulcanite. I wouldn't use amber for the tenon though, I don't think it'll last.