Your Recommendations, Please

What good is a pipe without tobacco? Discuss your favorites in here.
NathanA
Site Supporter

Your Recommendations, Please

Post by NathanA »

As well as being new to pipe making I am also relatively new to pipe smoking. The only place anywhere near me has about a half-dozen bulk blends and that's about it. I would like to branch out and I was looking to make an online purchase. I was hoping all the old pros would chime in with their recommendations of their favorite tinned tobaccos and/or those that every pipe smoker must try. I don't know a lot about the differences between tobaccos but so far I have enjoyed non-aromatics the most and if I have read correctly I don't think I like heavy burley blends because I believe those are most similar to cigarettes, which I don't care for. I would love to hear all of your opinions/suggestions. Thanks everyone!
Without Wax (Sincerely),
Nathan
www.armentroutpipes.com
TRS
Site Supporter

Re: Your Recommendations, Please

Post by TRS »

You've gotta let us know what you've tried and liked; at least a flavor profile if not a blend. I personally like all kinds of blends, aromatics included. But some of my favorite non-aromatics are Ashton Artisan's Blend, Esoterica Penzance, Mcclelland Dark Star and Esoterica Stonehaven. Some or all of these may be completely unavailable. And I'm not an old pro. But give an idea of what you like as far as flavor and someone should be able to help! Pure VA? VA/Per? English? Aromatics? (C'mon, maybe you've just tried the wrong aros! :D )
NathanA
Site Supporter

Post by NathanA »