T-88 failure

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
staffwalker
Site Supporter

T-88 failure

Post by staffwalker »

Okay guys, some help needed here. I have been using T-88 for four years, only had a couple of failures until about six months ago. In those cases I knew what I had done wrong, corrected and moved on. About six months back I started to have about 50% failure rate, assumed it was old epoxy, replaced with new but am still having problems. No matter what I do I experience failure. When I first started using T-88 to hold delrin in ebonite, I used to wait eight hours before working the stem, never had any problems. I have now moved the untouchable time up to 24 hours and am still having problems. I haven't changed my method of scoring at all. I score the delrin both horizontal and vertical, score the inside of the ebonite, mix the T-88 in equal amounts. Nothing I do has changed but I'm having way too many failures. I either need some help at figuring out what I'm doing wrong or a new epoxy brand. bob
e Markle

Re: T-88 failure

Post by e Markle »

I believe the resident epoxy expert is Mike Messer...
Danskpibemager

Post by Danskpibemager »

Hey Bob,
Sorry to hear about your troubles. Perhaps you just received a bad batch of product. Sounds to me like you've followed all the correct guidelines so it must be the epoxy. About a year ago I tested T-88 24 hour epoxy against the 5 minute and also against a generic brand and tried a little destructive testing to compare. There was no difference in the results. I could not pull any of the Delrin tenons loose; at least not in a sense that a pipe smoker would experience. I ended up just using the generic stuff and have never had any issues. Hope this helps and it was good to see you again at the Chicago Show!

Best Regards,
Kevin
bluesmk

Post by bluesmk »