Basic Tools for a New Guy

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
Here2Learn

Basic Tools for a New Guy

Post by Here2Learn »

I'm Just getting into pipe making and I've read so many different things online that I have no idea where to start and what I would need. I recently ordered a book on pipe making and I'm hoping that will shed some light on my lack of knowledge.

So far the only tools I have are a Drill, Dremel, Dremel Work Station, Clamps, and a bunch of bits that are way to short to make a hole through the stem. Given what I have I'm looking for suggestions as to what else I would need to be able to make a pip and not stop part of the way through because I'm missing something.

Keep in mind I'm a poor college student and am not in the position to spend a ton of money. Not yet at least...

Thanks in advance!
Don't sweat the petty things, and don't pet the sweaty things.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Re: Basic Tools for a New Guy

Post by KurtHuhn »

Hi Alex, in addition to my response to your PM, you'll want a set of tobacco chamber bits unless you plan on shaping the tobacco chamber by hand using your dremel. That, of course, is possible (at least one guy used to do that) but it's not the most efficient method.

Of course, to use those properly, you're going to want a full size drill press. The good thing is, you can find these relatively inexpensively if you troll Freecycle or Craigslist - or even eBay for local auctions that indicate "local pickup only".
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
Sasquatch

Post by Sasquatch »

I'd say a drill press is the most important single piece of equipment, because as kurt says, it allows you to drill chambers (and you can make the bit from an old spade bit with a file or grinder), and to drill stems to accept a delrin rod in order to make your own tenons etc.