Tips on preventing cracking during "seasoning" process?

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
Dixie_piper

Tips on preventing cracking during "seasoning" process?

Post by Dixie_piper »

I'm brand new at this, and I'm trying to "start from scratch"
One, for the experience, two, because I like the idea of making something from nothing.
So far I've "rough plained" 6 blocks (1 persimmon, 3 walnut and 2 oak)
My only problem is a major one; the heart of tree keeps cracking. How can I prevent this?
I've considered cutting it slower, but I believe it's splitting while it's drying rather than while I'm sectioning the timbers.
I'm letting the timbers dry for roughly 1-3 weeks before planing and sectioning. Is that too long? I plan to try my next timber all in one go; fell it, rough plain it (with chainsaw), and section it while it's still tender. Or will this produce the adverse effect?
I'm far from a woodsmen, but I do have a genuine love for wood working and a willingness to learn.
And I'm not harvesting trees specifically for pipe making, I'm actually thinning out my woods to keep some of my more monsterous oak and Walnut trees healthy and fruitful.
This process is off to a fun start, some
Regards,
Adam

Veo Vendice
&
Deum Timete
(family motto)
Sasquatch

Re: Tips on preventing cracking during "seasoning" process?

Post by Sasquatch »

Ordinarily, cracking occurs when wood dries, especially if it dries fast and uncontrolled. There are products out there, stabilizers which reduce the amount of water the wood can lose (some lumber comes with the ends dipped in wax), or even kind of impregnate the cells (PEG).

Keeping the fresh piece in a bag will slow down the drying quite a bit.
ALL YOUR PIPE ARE BELONG TO US!
Dixie_piper

Post by Dixie_piper »

Okay, thanks!
What's really irritating me is that the heart of the wood keeps cracking. The heart is what I'm hoping to use for my pipes.