Im new to this :)

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
CastAxe

Im new to this :)

Post by CastAxe »

Hi everyone,
Im new to pipe making and was wondering if i could get some tips. I dont have much money to invest into a lathe, a bandsaw, or any of those other fancy machines. So i use my drill and an array of other hand tools. Just a few questions,
-What are some good methods to obtain the shape of pipe desired using a file and disc sander?
-Getting the block square with handsaw's and sandpaper?
-Finish sanding, and staining, what are some good methods, color combos ect.?
-Finally i have been using cherry wood because it is free and readily available to me, is cherry a good wood to use when crafting pipes?
Any positive feedback would be greatly appreciated :)
"If at first you don't succeed, try, try again."
Dixie_piper

Re: Im new to this :)

Post by Dixie_piper »

Welcome!
Use the search function on the forum here and you'll have many answers to many questions from MANY skilled pipe makers.
There's a ton of information, along with traditional and alternative methods on here already just waiting to inform you. Good luck! :thumbsup:
Regards,
Adam

Veo Vendice
&
Deum Timete
(family motto)
CastAxe

Post by CastAxe »

thanks! :)
Dixie_piper

Post by Dixie_piper »

No problem, I've yet to make my first pipe yet an been at it for months.
As far as tools, PIMO (pimopipecrafter.com) has a "how to" book that explains how to make a pipe from beginning to end with tools that you already have most of, and an interesting home made drilling rig.
As far as cherry for wood, most any fruit wood is acceptable, Briar is still preferred. You can find it affordably via the links @ pipedia.com