MORA WOOD Woodcraft

Interested in making clay pipes, meerschaums, olive woods, or some other exotic material? Talk about it here.
MadTinker

MORA WOOD Woodcraft

Post by MadTinker »

What about MORA WOOD for a Pipe??
My intent is to make weird pipes out of weird materials
Dixie_piper

Re: MORA WOOD Woodcraft

Post by Dixie_piper »

Google it and see what all you can find out about it, I have no knowledge of this wood other than the fact that it is used to make a yellow dye, is hard to find and that's all I found.
Maybe some more seasoned wood workers could tell you more about it, but I would THINK (and I have been habitually wrong lately) that whatever is in the wood that produces dye may not be safe to smoke from, or in the least could mar a finish.
But for the price they're asking, you could get some good briar ;)
Regards,
Adam

Veo Vendice
&
Deum Timete
(family motto)
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

The last bright yellow wood I had anything to do with was some kind of pricker bush that ate my left hand while I was cutting them down with the chainsaw. They really irritated my skin, particularly where I was scratched by the thorns. I think I had an allergic reaction to the juices in that wood. The wood on the cut end was very bright yellow, like yellow model paint.

In nature, things that are brightly colored are typically poison. For this reason, I shy away from those things.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
Dixie_piper

Post by Dixie_piper »

KurtHuhn wrote: In nature, things that are brightly colored are typically poison. For this reason, I shy away from those things.

So the tie-dyed hippie living next door may be poisonous? Eh, it would explain the smell :lol:
Regards,
Adam

Veo Vendice
&
Deum Timete
(family motto)
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Dixie_piper wrote:
KurtHuhn wrote: In nature, things that are brightly colored are typically poison. For this reason, I shy away from those things.