pre-made stems, the best suppliers

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
potholer

pre-made stems, the best suppliers

Post by potholer »

As a newbie I have been looking through all the posts and hopefully I am not asking a dumb question. After destroying several hand cut stems :banghead: i have been thinking of a premade stem for the next abysmal attempt!
I have, being in the UK, been look at the stems that P. E Herman and Dan Pipes supply are there any points that i should be looking for in a premade stem or any other / better suppliers in europe?

Any hints or suggestions would be great
regards
dave
"Omne ignotum pro magnifico" - everything becomes common place by explanation :- sherlock holmes
flix

Re: pre-made stems, the best suppliers

Post by flix »

JHLowe have them for between $3 and $10 per dozen. They're hit and miss quality, at least half good in my experience. Best value IMO. JHLowe also have Giudici stems, allegedly better quality:

http://www.jhlowe.com/rubber-giudici.htm

An alternative would be AMSmoke, Mark Tinsky:

http://ssl.cybersun.com/4Dscripts/webca ... 6281~1~101

He gets his own stems from Italy, pre-made. I don't know if the stems Mark sells are the same Italian make that he uses on his own pipes, call him...HTH
potholer

Post by potholer »

Thanks flix
I had looked at JHLowe stems but being in the UK i was hoping for a closer solution.
I think that I will email them rather than the transatlantic phone call!
regards
dave

apologies for dumb / repeated question i did not scroll down the forum far enough :banghead:
"Omne ignotum pro magnifico" - everything becomes common place by explanation :- sherlock holmes
Jos

Post by Jos »

Hi Dave,

Janzen in Hamburg carries stems, too, both acrylic and ebonite ... though, I'm afraid, the site is all in german:http://www.janzen-pfeifen.de/frameset.html

Regards, Jens
potholer

Post by potholer »

Thanks Jens