Considering a Matthews Lathe

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
Alden

Considering a Matthews Lathe

Post by Alden »

I've been reading up on PM lathes for a few days, seems like you guys that have them dont want anything else.
The 1127vf has really been keeping me up at night.
I have a few questions for you, would this lathe absolutely need to be on a concrete floor ?
I'll be working in a wooden shed with a plywood floor and 2x4 braces underneath. Is an 1127vf too much lathe ??
I have little lathe experience but when I mentioned midi lathes, more than one said to start with a metal lathe if I'm seriously wanting to pursue this. Thats really stayed on my mind.
My other questions are budget related. I can *barely* swing just the price of the lathe for now.
How much will I regret not getting a collet closer added up front?
How much will I wish I had the larger spindle bore ?
Also lots of extras come standard, but what other parts would I need at a bare minimum to start turning pipes ? Will the 4 jaw chuck that comes with it work for a time ? What about turning tools ? Anything else I need to account for ?
All the insight I can get will help.
Tyler
Site Supporter

Re: Considering a Matthews Lathe

Post by Tyler »

Edward wrote:I've been reading up on PM lathes for a few days, seems like you guys that have them dont want anything else.
The 1127vf has really been keeping me up at night.
I have a few questions for you, would this lathe absolutely need to be on a concrete floor ?
I'll be working in a wooden shed with a plywood floor and 2x4 braces underneath. Is an 1127vf too much lathe ??
I have little lathe experience but when I mentioned midi lathes, more than one said to start with a metal lathe if I'm seriously wanting to pursue this. Thats really stayed on my mind.
My other questions are budget related. I can *barely* swing just the price of the lathe for now.