Greetins!

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
waznyf

Greetins!

Post by waznyf »

Hey everyone,

My name is Frank and I guess this is my formal "hello" to this online community!
I have been a pipe smoker for nearly one year now, and more recently I have been drawn to pipe crafting after being amazed by the craftsmanship that I see presented by many artisans on Facebook.
I am fairly shy but it has been made clear to me that being shy and hiding from these threads and criticism will only hurt me as a new pipe maker. I am ready to face the wrath of your advice lol

I just received a copy of PIMO's Guide To Pipe Crafting At Home and started to lurk on this forum.
To be frank, I have very little experience with any sort of woodworking. While many opportunities have been presented to me growing up it never appealed to me.
With that being said, I am still fortunate enough to have a family friend who not only happens to be a carpenter but who also is granting me full access to his shop as well as training on the lathe etc.

I have a pipe kit to get me started but I feel as if I am still a bit far from starting yet. I am certain that I have all of the power tools that are generally "required" for making pipes but I don't know if I have all the "smaller" things ie. bits, stem rods, good sand paper, stain, etc.
This is where I was hoping you guys/gals could help me figure out what else I will need other than power tools such as a lathe, drill press, band saw, etc. I know that a lot of this is purely based on opinion but I ask the question with that in mind.

Other than continually pushing myself to not give up, my other main challenge is utilizing this forum as best as possible to gain the information that I need. I understand that this craft as with many will take time and I am willing to dedicate that time... And money lol to reach my goal. Thank you all for welcoming me and I look forward to seeing you around the forum!

Regards,
Frank