Some more pipes

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
Cantó

Some more pipes

Post by Cantó »

Since last post I did a few new pipes and my son has born in the meantime so I'm really busy (and happy) these days.

I tried to apply the advice that UberHuberMan gave me in the last post and I'm removing more wood from the juncture of bowl and shank. Anyway, i think I need to improve this part a lot.

I also bought a metal lathe, but I'm still learning how to use it. Anyway, each one of these pipes are teaching me a lot. I'm happy because I'm not satisfied with the result yet, and it's far from the results of most of the people in this forum, but I see a little improvement in every pipe. It makes me happy.

11th pipe:

12th pipe:

13th pipe (first one using the lathe):

14th pipe:

I think that an interesting next step would be to buy sandblasting equipment. Any advice on specs? I never didn't and I don't know anything about it. Don't tell me brands... I'm in Europe and I realized that most of the brands you talk about, here are very hard to find. I would like to know how big the compressor should be, etc.

Thank you!!
My pipe maker apprentice blog:

http://www.cantopipes.com
d.huber

Re: Some more pipes

Post by d.huber »

Leaps and bounds sir! These look a ton better. Your shaping has improved dramatically, you're taking some respectable risks (note the thin walls on the first pipe), your stem work is looking good, and I envy your ability with symmetry. Not sure if you've noticed, but symmetry is not my personal strong suit. Tightening up that shank/bowl junction has made a world of difference. Great work!

The buttons on the first, third, and fourth pipes look really good. You've made a ton of progress. Keep working in this direction and you'll be making some stellar pipes soon!
http://www.dshpipes.com