Life span on Bulk Tobacco?

What good is a pipe without tobacco? Discuss your favorites in here.
flea1

Life span on Bulk Tobacco?

Post by flea1 »

I am new to the whole pipe world...How long does buld Tobacco last before it goes bad? :dunno:
flea1

Post by flea1 »

sorry I meant bulk tobacco...
ToddJohnson

Post by ToddJohnson »

I think the shelf-life of tobacco purchased from a jar at your local tobacconist is approximately 750 years give or take a decade. If there is a nuclear holocaust it may take a day or two to come back up to its previous moisture content. It actually doesn't go bad . . . it starts out that way. :)

Todd
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

ToddJohnson wrote:I think the shelf-life of tobacco purchased from a jar at your local tobacconist is approximately 750 years give or take a decade. If there is a nuclear holocaust it may take a day or two to come back up to its previous moisture content. It actually doesn't go bad . . . it starts out that way. :)

Todd
:naughty: :P

Bulk tobacco is NOT that bad. Especialy for beginners who are buying trying out lots of stuff. I still buy one tobacco in bulk, Peterson's Black Kathy.

How long will bulk stuff keep? From what I gather it all depends on how well you can manage the moisture content. FYI, if I were you I wouldn't buy loads of bulk right off the bat as your tastes may mature to wanting something that just isn't available in bulk. What got me off the bulk was trying my first tin tobacco (a MacBaren)... The black Kathy seems SO tasteless anymore. I keep it around for guests who only smoke around me ;)
JMB

Post by JMB »

ToddJohnson wrote:
" It actually doesn't go bad . . . it starts out that way. Smile"

LOL, but then you have some tin tobacco that will only go with "rot gut Booze"

Everyone too there on taste "as the man said when kissed a cow" lol
flea1

Post by flea1 »