allow me to introduce myself

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
magicbilly

allow me to introduce myself

Post by magicbilly »

i am new to this forum as well as this timeless art form. having never created a pipe before, my main question is, what are some of the biggest mistakes you see green horns (like my self) make when making a pipe?. please bare in mind that is this just a hobby for me. well i am new to making smoking utensils, i have some experience in metal art, painting, ceramics, glass, woodworking and i enjoy fixing up cars (new and old). thank you for you input ~MagicBilly
UncleDraken

Re: allow me to introduce myself

Post by UncleDraken »

Hello Mr. Billy!

I'm a newb too so I won't try and answer your question, but welcome to the community!
I don't know if you've spent much time lurking here yet, but there's a fair few people here that really know what they're talking about and the great thing is I haven't met a single one yet that hasn't been friendly or helpful. If you follow the sage advice of the experienced professionals and amateurs here you'll be off to a great start, as will I! Enjoy your stay ;)
Brent

"The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education." Albert Einstein
magicbilly

Post by magicbilly »

i have been lurking around here for a bit. i see that most people are using the Fiebings Permanent spirit-based dye so i decided to look up the MSDS on it. (link at the bottom) it contains "diethylene glycol ethyl ether or DEGEE", its liquid at room temp. it makes up about %10 of the spirit-based dye weight by volume.
this link is ( http://ec.europa.eu/health/ph_risk/comm ... _o_082.pdf )
a very in depth study into the effects of DEGEE exposure in animals as well as humans.