Help/Words of wisdom

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
cmueller

Help/Words of wisdom

Post by cmueller »

Hello everyone,

Over the holidays I was visiting Wingenroth Pipe Shop, which is where I first started selling my pipes and I started to come to the realization that if I continue to make pipes as a hobbyist I would still be making pipes as a hobby for years to come. I also started to realize that if I was intending on buying a pipe that day I would need to buy my own since the factory ones and the couple artesian pipes all had issues from off set button holes to poor drilling to name a few.

I recently started selling my pipes in the UK at Smoke King in Yorkshire and so far they have been well received. Lately, the owner of that shop and my family have been encouraging me to at least make pipes part time to start and see where it goes. I know this will take some work and more tooling to make things faster but I am trying to avoid mistakes if possible. If anyone could give me some advice or be able to give me a call so I can pick your brain that would be great. I know I will need a lathe to speed things up and a blaster/compressor since they are popular, a web page, and I need to attend shows but I am unsure of all the rest, especially taxes.

Thanks in advance
cmueller

Re: Help/Words of wisdom

Post by cmueller »

Anyone? Haha, you guys can pm me if that's easier.
callous49

Post by callous49 »

There are several things to consider when trying to start your own shop. I’m a newbie on this site but I wanted to wish you good luck and if I offer any advice it would be to don’t let the the business structure overwhelm your craftsmanship.

My wife has a glass shop making stained glass pieces and lamp work beads. She had to get a business license and sells mostly on Ebay and does some custom work. I know taxes and shipping very and then there is always The IRS.