Is a 10" drill press big enough?

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
rylandbrown

Is a 10" drill press big enough?

Post by rylandbrown »

I'm just getting started with pipe making and if I bought a drill press would 10" do it?
jeff

Post by jeff »

There are a few things you want to consider when buying a drill press. First, yes, 10" should be fine, but may not be ideal. You need to take into account the length of your bit (2-3") the height of the vise you will be using, and also the height of the tallest block you intend to drill. When all of these come together 10" may be a bit tight. Others may have had different experience, but on the few pipes I drilled this way, my 10" press was a nightmare.

I would also suggest that you pay close attention to the stroke length. I would not recommend anything less than 2 1/2" and certainly not less than 2". You want a press that will permit you to drill the full depth of the tobacco chamber without having to raise the platform.

I would caution you with respect to my advice, though. I'm no expert with the drill press and I'm sure others use them frequently and will have more personal experience from which they can share.

Best of luck,

Jeff
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Re: Is a 10" drill press big enough?

Post by KurtHuhn »

rylandbrown wrote:I'm just getting started with pipe making and if I bought a drill press would 10" do it?
Yes. I used a 9" press a few years ago, and did all my work on it.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

I agree with both Jeff and Kurt...

I'm so dang wishy washy!