PITH

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
josh_ford

PITH

Post by josh_ford »

Hey Everybody I know this is really late but better late then never. This is my PITH pipe, pipe #3 for me personally.

Here are some stats:
Acrylic stem with Delrin tennon
Height: 2 1/2"
Length: 5 1/2:
Chamber: 3/4" x 1/2"
Shank extension: something, walnut, something (same as before). I'm not sure what the lighter wood is, it came with this hardwood pack with the walnut.

Please be brutal, I'll enjoy it. I'm a college student I'm used to being torn to pieces. Politeness doesn't help me. Give me any changes I can make to be a better pipe maker. Won't hold it against any of you, promise. :lol:

Josh

josh_ford

Post by josh_ford »

Sorry Those were really small, here is something a little bigger.

Josh

ImageImage
Image[/img]
sethile

Post by sethile »

Wow Josh, that's a very nice pipe, and wonderfully original! I'm amazed it's only your third! I really like the shape, and I think it works very well with the grain in the block and the partial rustification.

I think your mystery insert wood may be maple. The fit between it and the walnut, and also the stem look good. The fit to the shank could be better, but I know it can be tough with multiple inserts like that. Wonderful job my friend! Keep up the excellent work!
Scott E. Thile
Collector, smoker, and aspiring pipemaker.
http://sethilepipes.com
Sysop: http://pipedia.org
---------------------
alexanderfrese

Post by alexanderfrese »

I do like the idea of adding some distinct secondary shape or line element by partially rusticating that way. It gives an overtone that swings clearly beyond hiding flaws in the briar.

I do second the critique about the multi-inlay. Even if it had turned out perfect (I am not really good at simple transitions at that part…). Maybe just one ring might have been enough.