Pipe pricings

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
josh_ford

Pipe pricings

Post by josh_ford »

Hey ya'll

Problem: I am a poor recent college grad without much "expendible income"

Problem: You blokes have made me fall in love with pipemaking.

Solution: Try to sell my pipes

Now I've sold a few pipes to friends and such for $50 or so but so far that has not really helped me to expand what I'm doing, it covers expenses but not much more.

Now I know this question may not be readily answerable but is there really a big difference between the engineering and finishes of $600 and $200 or is it basically the name of the carver that is pushing those kind of prices. (don't worry I'm not under any illusions of granduer by trying to sell my pipes for $600 I just want to know).

Do I sell my pipes for $100 even though I think I could sell them for more but to make sure they sell or do I pull a Martha Stewart and sell them for $500 just hoping someone will think they are a "high end pipe" and buy them?

I am just curious how you guys establish your price ranges for pipes. Did you start low and raise your prices as your fame grew? Did you just start out where you wanted to be and waited for people to notice you?

I would appreciate all opinions on the issue. Thanks guys.

Josh
bvartist

Post by bvartist »

Josh,

According to the Pipe Gurus on ASP, no unknown pipe carver should ever sell their creations for more than $75 :wink: Of course you've got to take into account where that statement is coming from.