visiting a pipemakers shop...how to approach?

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
loosvelt

visiting a pipemakers shop...how to approach?

Post by loosvelt »

Hey guys,

I was wondering if the group would over me some advice on the most appropriate way a new hobbyist like myself asks a more experienced pipemaker if he can come down to his shop, observe, and maybe pick the makers brain a little bit?

Is it more appropriate to wait until I can make it to a pipe show where I can introduce myself in person, or can pleasant email or phone call be ok?

Last question. I am very very new to pipemaking, is it wiser or more appropriate to work on your own for a decent amount of time and churn out some pipes best you know how, or is it wiser to visit a maker early on in order to pick up the very basic proper techiques and lower the chances of developing bad habits? The reason I ask is I am in federal law enforcement and there were guys in my academy who never fired a handgun before the first day of class, and there were guys who were self taught, owned handguns and went to the range a couple times a month. Many many times the guys with no experienced ended up easily outshooting the guys with self-taught skills by the end of the academy. This was because the new guys employed proper technique from day one and had no bad habits to overcome.

Thanks in advance. With that said anybody have a shop a few hours from D.C. and willing to have a visitor? I can clean a shop and always buy the drinks after :D
“He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.”- Nietzsche

Green Eyes, Black Rifles, and Briar Pipes....
TRS
Site Supporter

Re: visiting a pipemakers shop...how to approach?

Post by TRS »

tradhunter wrote:I am in federal law enforcement
Just show up at their shop one day, with badge and gun. They'll be happy to let you sit in. :P
KurtHuhn
Site Admin